Joseph A. Holmes Safety Association

The Joseph A. Holmes Safety Association (JAHSA) is a nonprofit organization that began in 1916 to promote health and safety in the mining industry and consists of representatives from Federal and State Governments, Mining Organizations and Labor. As part of this effort, the Association publishes the Bulletin several times a year, full of useful safety and health information.

2014 National Meeting Announced

The 2014 National Meeting and Training Seminar of the Joseph A. Holmes Safety Association will be held at the Holiday Inn, Austin Town Lake in Austin, TX 78701 on June 10-12, 2014.

Download the flyer and registration form

2014 Scholarships For Qualified Students

The Joseph A. Holmes Safety Association scholarship program is accepting applications until April 1, 2014 for students pursuing a mining health and safety-related education during the 2014-2015 academic year. See our scholarship page for more details and an application.

Holmes Mine Rescue Association (HMRA) formed within JAHSA

On June 6, 2013, in Virginia Beach, Virginia, the members of the Joseph A. Holmes Safety Association (JAHSA) overwhelmingly approved a constitutional amendment and changes to their by-laws to create a mine rescue organization within Holmes – the Holmes Mine Rescue Association. This action reestablishes mine rescue as an important function within the Joseph A. Holmes Association, which was created in 1916.


Current Officers

President Ron Bucci Indiana Mineral Aggregates Association, IN  (Vendor)
1st Vice-President Sam Scribe, Consultant, PA (Vendor)
2nd Vice-President Jeffrey Kravitz, MSHA, PA (Federal)
3rd Vice-President Mark Zinser, MI (Labor)
4th Vice-President Shad Montgomery, IN (Management)
Secretary    Robert Glatter, MSHA, VA (Federal)
Treasurer Al Simonson, MN (Emeritus)
Click here for full list of officers and executive committee members

For More Information

Write to: Joseph A. Holmes Safety Association P.O. Box 9375 Arlington, VA 22219
Or call: (703) 235-0249  Or fax: (703) 235-0011  Or e-mail: